Focus: E/E Architecture

November 23, 2020  |  Virtual Event

Focus: E/E Architecture

E/E Vehicle Architecture Summit Agenda  |  November 23, 2020

*Agenda subject to change

8:20am – 8:50am ET 

2:20pm – 2:50pm CET 

Opening Keynote Panel: Untangling the Wires – How Can OEMs Overcome a History of Piecemeal Software Additions?  

 Piecemeal software additions have enabled the development of a vehicle more connected, autonomous and electrified than ever before. This has suited the growing consumer preference for user experience over traditional capabilities. However, the automotive industry must change its approach to in-vehicle software before it becomes convoluted, expensive and an overall burden on the vehicle’s performance. 

 How must automakers reshape their internal organizational structure to ensure a coherent focus on software throughout departments? What further developments must take place to achieve real agility in the design cycles of OEMsA discussion with Dell and Wards Intelligence.  

Panelists: Jeff White, Industry CTO – AV & Edge TechnologiesDell Technologies 

Dr. Florian Baumann, Industry CTO – ADAS & Artificial IntelligenceDell Technologies 

Luca DeAmbroggi, Senior Principal Analyst, Wards Intelligence 

Norm Marks, Senior Director, NVIDIA 

8:50am – 9:00am ET 

2:50pm – 3:00pm CET 

Break

9:00am – 9:20am ET 

3:00pm – 3:20pm CET 

PresentationSecuring Centralized Architectures  

Where the vehicle is controlled through a central unit, how can automakers identify the cyber-security risks on the DCU of a particular vehicle? Should the central unit be compromised, what can be done to limit the risk and protect the safety of passengers?   

Infineon will share a picture of how widespread cybersecurity has been integrated in their automotive chip designs from Flash memories, RF radios and microcontrollers to dedicated security controllers and certified V2X components.  

Jeff Kelley, Automotive Safety & CybersecurityInfineon 

9:20am – 9:30am ET 

3:20pm – 3:30pm CET 

Break

9:30am – 9:50am ET 

3:30pm – 3:50pm CET 

Presentation: A Wards Intelligence Review of E/E Architecture 

A historical analysis of the evolution of E/E architecture in automotive. What challenges have we faced over the past 10 years? How is the rationale evolving?  

Luca DeAmbroggi, Senior Principal Analyst, Wards Intelligence 

9:50am – 10:00am ET 

3:50pm – 4:00pm CET 

Break

10:00am – 10:30am ET 

4:00pm – 4:30pm CET 

Panel: Powering an Evolutionary System with Centralized Architectures 

ECUs serve a purpose in controlling the various software systems, enabling the development of connectivity, autonomy and electrification within the vehicle, but far more integration and cross-communication between these units is necessary to achieve optimum feature performance.  

How can centralized architectures and domain controllers enable the next generation of software capabilities within the vehicle? What technological challenges must be overcome in order to rely on centralized control units? How might this effect technology developers and suppliers across the industry?

Moderator: Luca DeAmbroggi, Senior Principal Analyst, Wards Intelligence 

Panelists: Michael Clifford, Principal Researcher – Connected Car System Security, Toyota InfoTech Labs

Troy Trenchard, Chief Product OfficerSonatus 

10:30am – 11:00am ET 

4:30pm – 5:00pm CET 

Networking Break Featuring Meet the Speaker Rooms

11:00am – 11:20am ET 

5:00pm – 5:20pm CET 

Presentation: AUTOSAR & E/E Architecture for Future Intelligent

How does AUTOSAR support E/E architecture in principle, and zone architectures in general? Where to use AUTOSAR Classic and adaptive in in a zone architecture? A brief outlook on E/E related features in the making at AUTOSAR Mobility

Michael Niklas, Chairman, The AUTOSAR Development Partnership 

11:20am – 11:30am ET 

5:20pm – 5:30pm CET 

Break

11:30am – 11:50am ET 

5:30pm – 5:50pm CET 

Presentation: In-Vehicle Networking Technologies to Best Support Future E/E Architectures 

Kirsten Matheus, In-Vehicle Networking StrategistBMW 

11:50a 12:00pm ET 

5:50pm – 6:00pm CET 

Break

12:00pm – 12:30pm ET 

6:00pm – 6:30pm CET 

Panel: Who Will Be the Winners in the Electronic Architecture Evolution?  

An open discussion on the reshaping of the traditional automotive supply chain in the software era 

What new skills need to be offered to expand the capabilities of an existing portfolio? Will OEMs be the driving force behind the software revolution, or will we see a move to reliance on pure-play companies, Tier-1’s and Silicon Valley? How are partnerships and collaborative opportunities likely to develop? Where will your place be in the industry?  

ModeratorSteve Bell, Principal Analyst, Wards Intelligence 

Panelists: Johannes Biermann, PresidentAicas 

Dan Cauchy, Executive Director of Automotive Grade Linux, The Linux Foundation 

Shyam Sundar, Global Head of Product, Faraday Future 

12:30pm – 1:00pm ET 

6:30pm – 7:00pm CET 

Networking Break Featuring Meet the Speaker Rooms